Suicide (Hitabdut)

, 2014

A young, successful lawyer must descend into the seedy Jerusalem underworld, contend with a detective who suspects her of being a manipulative adulteress, and commit a perfect crime in order to save her husband and family from a ruthless loan shark. Taking place across parallel time zones, this tense, unpredictable debut from director Benny Fredman boasts an all-star cast of Israel’s best actors. An intense twist-filled suspense in the vein of The Usual Suspects, Suicide has been called the first action-thriller to come out of Israel.

73 MIN / Hebrew (English subtitles)

DIRECTOR — Benny Fredman

Category — Dybbuks and Other Mayhem